41 Years…Really?!

Married 41 years today.

My parents met on a blind date. They knew pretty much instantly that that was it for them. My Dad says he wasn’t stupid man – or maybe that was my Mom? ☺️ 

2B6A70BF-83F0-4026-8672-2AAEBA0F01A4.jpeg

Either way, they were engaged in 3 months and married within the year basically. 

Since I am a “One Day at a Time” kind of gal I did the math and they have been together for about 14,965 days. That’s a long time. 

They have been parents of one child for 12,775 and parents of multiple children for 12,045 days. Thank goodness my parents have a healthy balanced relationship. I can’t imagine it any different – it would have been interesting as I was a bit of a tyrant. 😜

They have always shown a united front, been fair, respectful to each other and never once have I seen them work against each other- they have always been on the same team. 

My Dad works a lot. My Mom works too. All day she prepares and maintains his home, while he provides the means to allow my Mom to take care of all the rest! 😂 

It’s funny because I’m some ways I’ve married my Dad. Sounds weird? Yeah I guess. But the similarities are nutty! Their sense of humour, their personality traits, work ethic and demeanour. Another similarity to our relationships is the fact that soon after my parents met they knew there was no one else – basically Love at Sight? Yeah – I’d say so. I mean I’m sure it was for my Husband! 😉

So today is a pretty special day. 

My sister and I get to celebrate too. We get to appreciate the amazing example we were blessed with watching our parents demonstrate how it’s done. 

1E45DBC9-E6E6-4043-9958-D8A768DD74D3

 

Happy Anniversary. 

Many, MANY MORE! 

Em x 

Leave a comment